Exploring the Wide, Fast, Deep Universe

Sydney Australia • 20–23 May 2019



Exploring the Wide, Fast, Deep Universe

LSST@Asia in Sydney (Australia) is the first conference in what we intend to be a series, following on from a series of very successful LSST@Europe conferences held in 2013, 2016 and 2018. These meetings enabled close interaction between LSST personnel and European scientists interested in LSST.

LSST@Asia will bring together scientists in Asia, Australia and South Africa with an interest in the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope and provide them with the opportunity to interact with each other as well as with leaders of the LSST Science Collaborations (Solar System; Stars, the Milky Way and Local Volume; Transients and Variable Stars; Galaxies; AGN; Strong Lensing; Dark Energy and Informatics) and hear updates on LSST construction and data processing progress.

The main objectives of the 2019 meeting are to:

  • Provide an update on the status of the LSST Project

  • Develop a network of scientists in Asia, Africa, and the Pacific involved in various aspects of LSST

  • Promote increased engagement of scientists with the LSST Science Collaborations

  • Explore synergies with other facilities

Child care will be provided to maximise participation by those with carer responsibilities. There will also be some funding support available to encourage attendance by early-career researchers (<5 years post-PHD) and PhD students.



Sydney, Australia


First announcement and pre-registration
20 August 2018

Abstract submission opens
19 November 2018

Abstract submission closes
19 December 2018

Program announced
1 February 2019

Registration and conference fee payment deadline
1 March 2019

20-23 May 2019



Registration will open in late 2018. To pre-register your interest in attending, please fill out the form below.


Local Organizing Committee

  • Sarah Brough (Chair; UNSW, Australia)
  • Christoph Bergmann (UNSW)
  • Anshu Gupta (UNSW)
  • Mireia Montes Quiles (UNSW)
  • Jeffrey Simpson (UNSW)

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • Sarah Brough (Chair; University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Wen-Ping Chen (National Central University, Taiwan)
  • Simon Driver (ICRAR, University of Western Australia)
  • Richard Easther (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
  • Yen-Ting Lin (Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Michelle Lochner (African Institute for Mathematical Sciences, and South African Radio Astronomy Observatory)
  • Byeong-Gon Park (Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute)
  • Somak Raychaudhury (The Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, India)
  • Tony Tyson (University of California Davis, USA)
  • Hu Zhan (National Astronomical Observatories of China)

Code of Conduct

The LSST@Asia organisers want to ensure all participants in its activities are able to enjoy an environment that is free from discrimination and harassment. Therefore, we are committed to making this meetings and events productive and enjoyable for everyone, regardless of race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, nationality or religion. We will not tolerate harassment in any form.

This code of conduct applies to all participants at this LSST@Asia conference, including but not limited to official sessions, social events, and meetings. Participants agree to follow these guidelines:

  • Behave professionally. Any form of harassment - sexist, racist, or exclusionary comments or jokes are not appropriate. Harassment includes sustained disruption of talks or other events, inappropriate physical contact, sexual attention or innuendo, deliberate intimidation, stalking, and photography or recording of an individual without consent. It also includes offensive comments related to race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, or religion.
  • All communication should be appropriate for a professional audience including people of many different backgrounds. This includes oral, written and print language, and imagery.
  • Be considerate and respectful to others. Do not insult or put down other attendees. Critique ideas rather than individuals.

Individuals engaging in behaviour prohibited by this policy, as well as those making allegations of harassment in bad faith, will be subject to disciplinary action. Such actions range from a verbal warning to ejection from the meeting or activity in question without refund of registration fees, and the reporting of their behaviour to their employer. 

If you have concerns, suggestions, or would like to report a violation, please contact the meeting organizer Sarah Brough (s.brough@unsw.edu.au).

Parts of this code of conduct are based on the London Code of Conduct, as originally designed for the conference 'Accurate Astrophysics. Correct Cosmology', held in London in July 2015. The London Code was adapted with permission by Andrew Pontzen and Hiranya Peiris from a document by Software Carpentry, which itself derives from original Creative Commons documents by PyCon and Geek Feminism. It is released under a CC-Zero license for reuse. To help track people's improvements and best practice, please retain this acknowledgement, and log your re-use or modification of this policy at https://github.com/apontzen/london_cc.

LSST@Asia Sponsors